Home | 2017 | January | State Mandated Physical Fitness Testing @ Tech in Feb.
State Mandated Physical Fitness Testing @ Tech in Feb.
School NewsComments Off on State Mandated Physical Fitness Testing @ Tech in Feb.
By law (Education Code Section 60800), all school districts in California are required to administer the Physical Fitness Test (PFT) annually to all students in grades 5, 7 and 9.
All students in grades 7-12 must receive a minimum of 400 minutes of Physical Education instruction every 10 school days (Education Code Section 51222). This means students must have Physical Education all 4 years of high school by law. However, local school boards (like OUSD board), may exempt students from any 2 years of physical education in grades 10, 11, or 12.
Beginning in July 2007, students must pass the PFT to receive the 2 year exemption (Education Code Section 51241).
Physical Education teachers will test every 9th grader and every 10-12 grade student in a P1301F Physical Education course, this includes students in Ms. Brandt’s, Ms. O’Connor’s, Mr. Bascom’s and Coach Sherman’s classes. The testing window starts Feb. 1 and ends Feb. 28.
Students must pass 5 out of 6 of the following tests for pass the PFT:
Aerobic capacity (one test): One of these 2 tests, PACER or 1 Mile Run.
Abdominal strength and endurance (one test) : Curl up test.
Upper body strength and endurance (one test): One of these 3 tests, push-ups, flexed arm hang or modified pull-up.
Body composition (one test): Body Mass Index.
Trunk extensor strength and flexibility (one test): Trunk Lift.
Flexibility (one test): One of these 2 tests, Back-Saver Sit and Reach or Shoulder Stretch.
The passing scores vary, depending on sex, age, height and weight.
Every student is encouraged to try his/her best in every test.
Physical Education teachers will be testing Monday through Friday during the month of February. There might be opportunities for make ups, but it is not guaranteed.
Once a student passes 5/6 Physical Fitness Tests, he/she will receive a 2 year Physical Education exemption form that must be handed to the counselors. If a student does not pass 5/6 tests, he/she will be enrolled in a Physical Education class until at least the following testing window.
There are multiple videos on YouTube that can help students prepare for each of the tests. In addition to the California Department of Education website and Fitnessgram, Cooper Institute website. Here is a link for students and parents to better understand the tests and results.