Boys Cross Country Repeats as OAL Champions; Girls Second

On a horrible day for running with a cold steady rain and endless mud, the Oakland Tech cross country teams put on a show on the hilly, soggy Joaquin Miller course.  In a combined race of the top runners from the Oakland Athletic League and the 14-member Bay Area Charter School Athletic Conference, the Boys’ team ran away with the title and the automatic bid to the California State Championship meet to be held in Fresno, on Saturday, November 30.  They will be accompanied by freshman Hannie Ross and senior Fiona Gregg, who earned invitations to State on the basis of their individual performances.

The Girls, running under the day’s worst conditions while the rain was still steadily falling, started the meet off by placing all 7 runners in the top 20.  Led by Hannie Ross, whose 24:18 time was just 0.01 seconds behind the winner from KIPP-King — these two freshmen are destined for a tremendous rivalry over the next three years! – Tech’s five scoring runners averaged an impressive 27:16, good for 2nd place in the OAL and third overall.

The Boys team simply dominated its competition, placing 6 runners in the top 10 to defeat 2nd-place Skyline decisively, 20-57.  Senior Adam Gardere Jr. won the overall title for the second consecutive year, beating the field of runners by more than a minute!  Underclassmen Luke Maier and Matthew Murphy finished in the medals as well, following Adam into the finishing chute in 2nd and 3rd places.  The JV race was all Oakland Tech too, with Tech sweeping the first 6 places and 10 of the top 15.

We bid goodbye and thank you to the tremendous group of graduating seniors, all of whom have contributed to Oakland Tech’s OAL Championships over the past two years.  Despite their departures, the future is very bright with 4 of the Girls’ Varsity and 5 of the Boys’ Varsity returning, plus all 7 of the top JV runners!

Good luck at STATE, Bulldogs!    

Girls Varsity
Place Name Time
2 Johanna Ross  24:18
8 Fiona Gregg  26:07
13 Tiffany Huang  28:20
14 Lindsay Chan  28:30
16 Sophie Schafer  29:06
17 Margaret Bratt  29:09
19 Serena Hawkey  31:33


Boys Varsity
Place Name Time
1 Adam Gardere, Jr.  20:26
2 Luke Maier  21:42
3 Matthew Murphy  22:09
6 Simon Fillipenko  22:33
8 Cheyenne Bennmarie-Jacobson  22:52
10 Mac Bissell  23:00
17 William Rowcliffe  24:48


Boys Junior Varsity 
Place Name Time
1 Rafael Cohn-Gruenweld  24:49
2 Miles Young  24:58
3 Trevor Harrison  25:04
4 Koby Cobb-Vialet  25:39
5 Ryan Davidson  26:25
6 Jacob Lettieri  26:30
8 Adrian Napolitano  27:27
11 Mauro Jeronimo Mendoza  28:05
13 Jordan White  28:58
15 Chase Goldberg  29:58
  Matthew Trueblood  33:20 (3 laps)


Girls Junior Varsity
4 Anya Ku  33:31




Comments are closed.